What will they think of next?

Reading a recent entry over on Boing Boing, about the popularity of surgical mask use in Japan, I was reminded of my first encounter with this phenomenon. My broke college campus shared property with an English school swarming with students from all over the world, mostly South Korea and Japan. Several times I spotted individuals sporting surgical masks – and not just run-of-the mill pale blue or white masks. Some of them even had designer versions, such as Burberry, with the famous tartan pattern. While at first it seemed frivolous and creepy, a la Michael Jackson, I warmed up to the idea of one taking such a bold proactive step in protecting others from their germs (being a bit of a germaphobe and all). I’m not confident enough to wear one myself, given that the society I live in surely wouldn’t get it and I’d probably suffer many a lingering glance. However I hope this is one idea that takes off. Nothing agitates me more than jerks who don’t stay at home when they are sick, let alone cover their cough or sneeze. Or jerks that think hand sanitizer is an effective replacement for soap and water at all times. Eww.

via Boing Boing

One thought on “What will they think of next?

  1. Also remember young children are the #1 spreaders of germs. If you have and/or work around them, avoid getting sick this flu and cold season, so check out this new program: Germy Wormy Germ Awareness for Germ Transportation Vehicles ages 2 –7. Children learn in a fun and safe way how to keep from both catching and spreading germs. Daycare centers and schools are raving about it!

    http://www.germywormy.com

    Give kids a PLACE to give their germs to – instead of you!

Leave a Reply

