RIP Bea Arthur

 

I added the arrow for those who may not know...
I added the arrow for those who may not know...

Sigh. What is there to say? There will never be another Bea Arthur. I had the pleasure of briefly meeting her at a DVD signing at Barnes and Noble on 17th street a few years ago. It was immediately apparent that she was a woman that doesn’t take shit from anyone.

Golden Girls, while likely the butt of many jokes, was a show that really influenced me, like many other women, and provided much comfort during my college years. As a resident assistant I even had a Golden Girls theme night!

I love how sassy Bea looked, even as an older woman, and respect how she managed to keep her private life private (though I doubt TMZ would have hounded her much). I hope I have half as much grace and style when I age.

Leave a Reply

