Perks of Suburbia

Yard sales. Garage sales. Tag sales. Whatever you want to call them, I call them opportunities to find weird stuff that is no longer wanted. 

A great website of kindred spirits if Yard Sale Bloodbath. The people behind that blog are out in the Northwest of the states, Seattle to be precise, and they always post pictures of the treasures they find, ranging from fun and or useful to bizarre and creepy. 

I am interested in finding unwanted, perfectly useful paper, and so, when I came across a box full of loose sheets and old notebooks, I grabbed it. The little girl making the sale took a minute before completing the transaction, to look through the box for any drawings or other precious artwork that she may have hastily forgotten to remove. I told her to take her time, since I wasn’t interested in any awkward crayon art. But wouldn’t you know she left plenty of writing and sketching throughout the contents of the box.

 

 

I'm assuming that's the name of the little artist behind all of this.
I'm assuming that's the name of the little artist behind all of this.

 

 

 

LeAnne with a punk rock haircut and her band- Laurs Z. on keys and Amanda M. on drums.
LeeAnne with a punk rock haircut and her band- Laurs Z. on keys and Amanda M. on drums.

 

Before the punk band took off?
Before the punk band took off?

 

Evidently, even before the punk haircut, LeeAnne had a penchant for pushing the envelope.
Evidently, even before the punk haircut, LeeAnne had a penchant for pushing the envelope.
So stereotypically 'little girl,' I can't stand it.
So stereotypically 'little girl,' I can't stand it.

Aside from those there were a lot of pages filled with what must be class notes – simple math, bits about books she must’ve had to read in school, and my personal favorite, rows and rows of spelling vocabulary. 

And then there were these gems:

 

I'm not sure what's going on here.
I'm not sure what's going on here.

And, I’ve saved the best for last:

 

 

I could fill that page.
I could fill that page.

 

Aside from the paper, someone gave me two old fashioned aprons, at no cost, and I bought a slim, old writing desk for $5 and an old folding wooden chair for $.50 (locally crafted). Seriously a steal. I shall paint them and perhaps photograph them after and share them here.

Leave a Reply

