Christmas Creativity

I work part-time in a museum gift shop, where my boss already had Christmas merchandise on display during the last week of October. Ornaments, trees (fake) of various sizes, nutcrackers and advent calendars have totally infiltrated. And then there’s the Christmas music.

It’s hard for me to appreciate. (That’s my nice way of saying I don’t like it.)

The holiday is no longer a big deal in my family, after the passing of the matriarch, who was the only reason anybody bothered to gather and feign peace for a few hours.

I don’t expect to find any actual Christmas trees in my relative’s homes, and actually I have grown to find the tradition a bit loathsome.

Maybe someday I’ll relish the tradition, but right now I could see a very non-traditional, and minimalist tree, serving as the perfect alternative. Like this one:

holidaydec01

One thought on “Christmas Creativity

Leave a Reply

