A Christmas Gift for You from Phil Spector

This is one of the only aspects of the holiday season that I can get excited about. For me, most Christmas music is lackluster (save the Charlie Brown scores, and a few other gems, like The Waitresses Christmas Wrapping). But this quintessential album by the fantastically creepy Spector offers hit after hit with style, including my top favorite holiday song, Baby, Please Come Home.

Sung by Darlene Love, this is a song that could easily have fallen prey to schmaltz. But with the soul that Love brings, and that voice, it’s more like rock n’ roll, which I’m sure is why Bono and company chose to cover it (also an amazing version – the one that I grew up with before I knew about Spector).

Say what you want about Spector, but nobody has created anything as grand since he released this masterpiece.

If there was a way,

I’d hold back these tears,

but it’s Christmas Day,

Baby please come home


Leave a Reply

