Kate McGarrigle

Kate McGarrigle (center), with her children Martha and Rufus Wainwright.

Although I knew that Kate had been ill, this news did come as a surprise. Her son Rufus was not too shy in discussing his dear mother’s health in interviews – including a New York Times Talk that I was so fortunate to attend a few years ago.

I’d be a liar if I said I were a big fan of Kate’s. Really, I am a fan of hers through default, being a devoted fan of Rufus. I know he was close with his mother, and their bond always struck me as something deeply profound. If I am not mistaken, Rufus even wrote his song, ‘Slideshow’ about her, as she had just fallen ill.

I don’t know why, exactly, but I really feel for Rufus as he is dealing with this loss. On the bright side, if there could be said to be one, I am sure that he will write some amazing material following this experience.

Slideshow

Do I love you because you treat me so indifferently?
Or is it the medication?
Or is it me?

Do I love you because you don’t want me to rub your back?
Or is it the medication?
Or is it you?
Or is it true?

And I better be prominently featured in your next slideshow
Because I paid a lot of money to get you over here, you know?
And if I am not prominently featured in your next slideshow
I don’t know what I’m gonna do

Do I love you, or is this feeling just a little pain?
A treasure chest is broken easily open
And usually I am such a happy prince
Behind the iron curtain, the city walls a solid prison

Leave a Reply

